Reviews - Excise House

Summer 2017

Excellent - Rating 5/5

I had 2 nights at the Excise House in May \'17. It was 5 star in all respects - room, breakfast, location, welcome, value for money etc. I use Scottish B&Bs several times a year, and this one rates very highly indeed.

Reviewer: Mr. iain taylor | Wed 17th May 2017


Dan\'s wonderful birthday! - Rating 5/5

The house is too cute and cozy, very quit and silent. Very convenient if you want to visit Lagavulin and Ardbeg distilleries. Claire, the housekeeper, is extremely kind, professional and very careful about customer needs. Very good homemade Scottish breakfast:) Great experience, we will go back with pleasure!

Reviewer: Miss. Livia Mammarella | Mon 8th May 2017


Wonderful Stay at Islay! - Rating 5/5

Claire was the most wonderful host. We spent most of our time in Islay exploring the landscape, taking whiskey tours, and climbing hills to enjoy the beautiful weather and sunsets. Highly recommend staying at the Excise House. The rooms are gorgeous, clean, and Claire made us a wonderful breakfast each morning. Book in advance because space is limited on this beautiful island!

Reviewer: Mr. Cassandra Andrea | Sat 6th May 2017


Excellent stay with First class service - Rating 5/5

We chose the Old Excise House as we were intending to visit the Distillery just next door. The owners made us very welcome on our arrival on a wet afternoon. The House had recently undergone renovation as the room we had was immaculate , comfortable and had a large ensuite bathroom. The facilities also included a large TV, WiFi , tea and coffee making facilities and more. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of cereals, fruit, cheese, fruit and a full hot breakfast selection , though we didn\'t choose. Overall it was a fabulous place to stay , very close to the southern end of Islay.

Reviewer: Mr. Michael Oglethorpe | Fri 18th Nov 2016


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Beautiful location within walking distance of Islay\'s three south coast distilleries. Superb facilities and attention to detail in very well appointed and comfortable rooms. The cooked breakfasts are perfection. Nothing is too much trouble in this friendly, family run establishment.

Reviewer: Mr. Paul Reece | Sat 5th Nov 2016


Beautiful B&B in great location - Rating 5/5

One of the best B&Bs we\'ve had the pleasure to visit. Immaculate room, friendly efficient host, lovely breakfast and convenient location for walking to Laphroaig, Laguvulin and Ardbeg distilleries. Hope to return in future.

Reviewer: Dr. Susan Topham | Tue 1st Nov 2016


Incredible nice stay - Rating 5/5

A very big Thank You to Claire and David for making our stay at Excise House unforgettable. We really enjoyed every moment, your super breakfast, your helpfulness and the large and lovely room and beautiful view. We hope to come back.

Reviewer: Mr. Torben Odgaard | Sun 30th Oct 2016


Amazing B&B Excise House - Rating 5/5

Beautiful house, friendly welcome, outstanding room, excellent breakfast. When you are touring Islay you should definitely consider staying here.

Reviewer: Mrs. Eileen Clark | Wed 26th Oct 2016


Sorry to leave. - Rating 5/5

My wife and I visited for 3 nights in October 2016. Despite arriving very early, we were shown to our room before heading off for our first distillery visit of the holiday. Comfortable quiet rooms, welcoming hosts, great breakfast (much needed if you intend to visit the distilleries). Perfectly placed and an easy walk for three of the distilleries meant the car could just be abandoned for a few days, and both my wife and I could endulge. We have found an absolutly perfect location here, and wouldn\'t think of going anywhere else on Islay now. I just hope there\'s room when we return, as somewhere this good won\'t be a hidden gem for long. We couldn\'t have asked for more from David & Claire and hope to visit again soon.

Reviewer: Mr. Michael Scollan | Sun 16th Oct 2016


Just Perfect! - Rating 5/5

We stayed 4 days in Excise house and Claire and David were just perfect. Our room was spacious and clean. Breakfasts were very good and copions . Claire and David were so thoughtful...Many thanks again for everything...we will come back, it is sure.

Reviewer: Mr. Olivier Theallier | Sun 9th Oct 2016


Perfect stay with very obliging hosts - Rating 5/5

Since the house is newly renovated, every room is in a perfect condition and lovely decorated. The breakfast in the beautyfull breakfastroom was amazing. Claire and David are very helpfull, for example by booking a whisky tour at Laphroaig Distillery for us.

Reviewer: Mrs. Astrid Schaefer | Sat 8th Oct 2016


Islay Trip - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay with Claire and David while touring the beautiful island of Islay. They were wonderful hosts and the Excise House gave us a terrific homebase for the time we were there. Highly recommended !!! Thanks Claire and David

Reviewer: Mr. frederick downs | Wed 5th Oct 2016


The Peatiest Corner of Islay - Rating 5/5

We chose the Lagavulin guest house mainly due to it\'s proximity of the three smokiest, peatiest distilleries - Laphraoig, Lagavulin and Ardbeg. And location-wise it was sensational. We walked between the three distilleries along a picturesque pathway. But our stay there was much more than \'conveniently located\'. Claire was a delightful host, helping organise taxis and providing umbrellas when the weather was a little drizzly. Breakfast was sensational, and we wanted for nothing. The room was spacious and well-appointed and watching (and talking to) the sheep on the hill behind was fun. About half an hour\'s drive from the airport and about 10 minute\'s drive from Port Ellen, it was a great stay.

Reviewer: Mrs. Jennifer Radford | Fri 16th Sep 2016


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely friendly place within easy walking distance of three distilleries. Will hopefully visit again. Thank you

Reviewer: Mr. Tom Gladden | Mon 29th Aug 2016


Great place, great hosts! - Rating 5/5

Claire and David operate an excellent inn with bright, large and super clean accommodations. I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Reviewer: Mr. Richard Schmidt | Sun 28th Aug 2016


Perfect Stay - Rating 5/5

A beautifully refurbished & comfortable guest house, great location easy to find, booking was easy with great communication from hosts Claire & David who from the moment we arrived until we left made us feel very welcome & at home. Claire\'s breakfasts are fantastic - thank you for making our break a memorable one.

Reviewer: Mr. Andrew Bennett | Sat 13th Aug 2016


Excellent place - Rating 5/5

Altogether a great experience. The location was perfect. The room was lovely. Best breakfast on Islay. Especially we would like to thank you for your hospitality. Petri and Annu.

Reviewer: Mr. Petri Saarinen | Thu 4th Aug 2016


The BEST B&B we\'ve stayed at anywhere - Rating 5/5

Claire is tireless in providing everything and anything her guests need in the fabulous location with a house purposely converted to provide the very best accommodation. Breakfast is amazing and we were taught how to make porridge properly as well as how excellent the local Laphraoig marmalade can taste on the home made bread. (It might sink a duck but tasted fantastic to us). Just make sure you book and go to the Excise House in Lagavulin because there is another with a similar name nearby which you pass on the road from Port Ellen.

Reviewer: Dave & Val Levy | Sun 17th Jul 2016


Islay as it´s best - Rating 5/5

Very nice house, warm welcome, excellent room, very clean. Great hospitality and the accomodation is locates very good to explore Islay (especially three distilleries, but also near to \"The Oa\", Kildaton Cross..) Thanks!

Reviewer: Mr. Dirk Rabe | Sun 10th Jul 2016


Lovely stay in Excise House - Rating 5/5

The best B&B of our trip. Now back in Paris, far from Islay. However we had a very nice stay in Excise House, even if we left early in the morning (Morning light on the boat was just magic). The breakfast was so good specially the Laphroaig marmalade. Many thanks

Reviewer: Christian Soubra Ref Eric & Francoise Lalle | Mon 27th Jun 2016


Best B&B I know - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at the Excise house in the begining of June. After a warm welcome we were shown to the beautiful Heather suit. The room is big, with good bed, sofa and TV. The bathroom has both shower and a jacuzzi and is nice and spacious. Extra points for having Ecolabeld products (soap and shampoo). Breakfast is good and served in a nice breakfast room. There is plenty of parking space in the yard so parking was nice and easy. Lagavulin distillery is just round the corner, and Ardbeg and Laphroaig are within a walking distance. This was a good base for our distillery trips round the island. It was lovely to return to the peacefull environment after a day roaming around the island.

Reviewer: Mrs. Saara Elväs | Tue 14th Jun 2016


Outstanding Stay - Rating 5/5

5 stars are not enough to show the standard of this B&B. Opposite of Lagavulin Distillery lies this beatyful house with hig standard rooms en suite. Owners made us feel more at home then being guests in their house . Highly recommended.

Reviewer: Mr. Jochen Arndt | Sun 12th Jun 2016


Perfect for us - Rating 5/5

very nice owners super suite, spacious, clean, super views, very close to three super destillierys, very good Scottish breakfast, The earlier we go back even better

Reviewer: Mr. Helge Wolf | Fri 10th Jun 2016


Wonderful time - Rating 5/5

We stayed there for two nights at the end of May 2016 and had a wonderful time. Our room was spaceous and very tastefully decorated. Our host was very attentive towards us and tried to do everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible. And besides a visit at some of the whisky distilleries you could also do a lot of other things, like hiking and cycling in a wonderful nature, birdwatching, sailing and enjoying the beauty of this very unique Island. Thank you Claire!

Reviewer: Jurgen Busser | Mon 6th Jun 2016


Our Stay at Excise House - Rating 5/5

Claire and David were very nice and friendly hosts. The property was very clean and tidy. The room we stayed in was very clean with a window overlokking the rolling hills with sheep and lambs prancing about. Rather nice. Breakfast was excellent. All in all we enjoyed our stay at Excise House tremendously-

Reviewer: Ms. Yeow Geak Tan (Mrs. Witt) | Sat 14th May 2016


Perfect in every way! - Rating 5/5

We chose the Excise House for its proximity to our favorite distilleries, and it was so much more. Claire was delightful and very helpful. When we arrived, she brought us tea and chocolate croissants. The room was lovely and comfortable, the breakfast was delish! We would have loved to stay longer.

Reviewer: Mrs. Kathy Cahill | Sat 14th May 2016


Lovely and excellent - Rating 5/5

Claire, thank you for taking such good care of us and the picnic you provided. We enjoyed staying and slept very well. Robert and Mary from the Netherlands

Reviewer: Mr. Robert Van Haren | Thu 5th May 2016


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Had a short but sweet stay at Excise House, a beautiful old building that has been tastefully renovated. Great hosts, delicious breakfast, super comfy bed.

Reviewer: Mr. Alexander Cook | Mon 2nd May 2016


Best stay in Scotland! - Rating 5/5

Staying at Excise House Lagavulin was honestly the absolute best part of our two week road trip. If we could have, we would\'ve stayed forever. Claire is the best, her breakfasts are incredible, the room was huge and comfortable, and the house is the perfect location to enjoy all the wonders that Islay has to offer. My husband and I seriously cannot wait to get back to the island so we can stay here again and again.

Reviewer: Mrs. Courtney Murray | Mon 2nd May 2016


A welcoming and pleasant w-e at Excise House - Rating 5/5

Located at walking distance of three dislleries, within a beautiful scenery, Claire is welcoming you in Excise House, a very pleasant, calm, fully restored B&B. Rooms are fully equipped with individual shower & toilet room. Freshly cooked Scottish breakfast is amazing. Surely a place to stay!

Reviewer: Mr. Jerome Joing | Tue 12th Apr 2016


Excise House a Delight - Rating 5/5

Beautifully renovated, immaculately kept, contemporary yet cosy decor and outstanding hospitality. Perfectly located for access to Lagavulin, Ardbeg and Laphroaig, it has to be one the most idyllic spots in Scotland. Best of all - scones with jam after a long hike! Thanks David and Clair. Dominic Macklon, Aberdeen

Reviewer: Mr. Dominic Macklon | Fri 1st Apr 2016


Just perfect! - Rating 5/5

If you want a most luxurious room, in a building with a story behind it, with a 5* service (even more stars when it comes to cleanliness) and yet with a cosy friendly feeling of visiting a friend then this is the perfect location on Islay to start your adventures from. Claire is the best!

Reviewer: Miss. Katerina Panagaki | Thu 31st Mar 2016


An amazing location on an amazing island - Rating 5/5

My husband and I visited for two nights and it was everything we hoped it would be. It was the perfect base for exploring distilleries on the South end of the island without worrying about driving, they were all walkable on a lovely paved path. We had a standard room which was very spacious and incredibly clean. Claire was an absolute joy of a host, and made an incredible Scottish breakfast each morning. I wish we had spent more time on Islay and would not hesitate to book here again.

Reviewer: Ms. Sarah Jones | Thu 31st Mar 2016